Le Báb — Héraut de Bahá’u’lláh et Porte ouvrant sur sa mission

Cette présentation sur la mission du Báb, créée à l’occasion du bicentenaire de sa naissance, comprend une brève description de sa vie et de ses enseignements, ainsi que de son rôle en tant que héraut de Bahá’u’lláh. Elle comprend une brève sélection des écrits du Báb.

Pour plus d’informations sur cette période, consultez la section Célébrations du bicentenaire de Bahai.ca.

Héraut de Bahá’u’lláh et Porte ouvrant sur sa mission

L’année 2019 marque le bicentenaire de la naissance du Báb, l’un des deux fondateurs de la foi bahá’íe. L’anniversaire du bicentenaire de sa naissance tombe deux ans après le bicentenaire de la naissance de Bahá’u’lláh, célébré dans le monde entier en octobre 2017.

Ces deux célébrations sont intimement liées. La vie et le message du Báb étaient centrés sur l’apparition imminente d’un autre messager divin : Bahá’u’lláh. Chaque année, les anniversaires de la naissance du Báb et de celle de Bahá’u’lláh sont observés comme des jours saints jumeaux, puisqu’ils se succédaient à un jour près selon le calendrier en usage en Perse à l’époque. Leurs anniversaires sont célébrés les 29 et 30 octobre 2019.


La vie et les enseignements du Báb marquent un tournant dans l’histoire de l’humanité. Né Siyyid Ali-Muhammad en 1819, il prit le nom de Báb, qui signifie « la Porte » en arabe. Sa mission publique, de 1844 à 1850, a représenté une révolution spirituelle qui a bouleversé l’ordre social, politique et religieux qui prévalait en Perse, ouvrant la porte à la nouvelle vision unifiante de Bahá’u’lláh.

Le Báb était un messager de Dieu dans la succession d’éducateurs divins venus au cours des siècles, incluant Abraham, Krishna, Zoroastre, Moïse, Bouddha, Jésus et Muhammad. Le Báb est apparu à un moment de l’histoire où les cultures et les peuples du monde se rapprochaient comme jamais auparavant. Le XIX e siècle a connu une série de changements dans les domaines économique, politique, scientifique et culturel si profonds qu’un éminent historien l’a qualifié de siècle de « transformation du monde » 1.

Alors qu’il n’avait que 25 ans, le Báb annonça la fin d’une époque religieuse et le début d’une autre. Il inaugura une religion indépendante avec ses propres lois et textes sacrés, dont le Bayán persan. En peu de temps, il attira des milliers de disciples parmi les Perses. Sa mission publique, qui n’a duré que six courtes années, fut lourde de conséquences.

La mission du Báb

Les enseignements du Báb exigeaient une pureté de cœur et un comportement qui transcendent les simples paroles et croyances. Il a guidé ses disciples vers un exigeant mode de vie collective de prière, de méditation, d’autodiscipline et de solidarité. Il a écrit :

Purifiez vos cœurs des désirs terrestres, et parez-vous des vertus angéliques. […] Suppliez le Seigneur votre Dieu de vous accorder sa faveur afin qu’aucune affection humaine, aucun projet éphémère, ne ternisse la pureté ou ne change en amertume la douceur de cette grâce dont vous êtes pénétrés2.

La plus acceptable des prières est celle qui est offerte avec la spiritualité et le rayonnement les plus extrêmes; sa prolongation n’a pas été et n’est pas aimée de Dieu. Plus la prière est détachée et pure, plus elle est acceptable en présence de Dieu3.

Ces paroles fournissent un aperçu de la nature des normes et de la vision du Báb. Ses enseignements confirment l’importance de la science et font l’éloge des développements culturels et scientifiques en Occident, dans la mesure où ils évitent le matérialisme extrême. Il a élevé le statut social des femmes, puissamment représenté par l’un de ses principaux disciples, Táhirih, qu’on a appelé « le chef de file de l’émancipation des femmes d’Orient »4. Le Báb a rejeté l’animosité existant entre les religions et a parlé de l’unité future du genre humain répondant ainsi aux rêves et idéaux des philosophes, poètes et prophètes divins des siècles passés.

Le Báb a appelé l’humanité à adopter une nouvelle vision à la mesure des forces et des pouvoirs libérés dans la société par la science et l’industrie, et des changements dans les systèmes politiques et économiques. Ses enseignements comprenaient des concepts sur la nature du destin de l’humanité sur terre qui répondaient aux espoirs et aux aspirations de ceux qui ont reconnu le XIX e siècle comme le début d’une « ère moderne 5 » avec son esprit et sa dynamique propres.

Bien qu’initialement considéré comme un réformateur religieux, le Báb a clairement indiqué que sa religion était indépendante de l’islam et de ses lois. La ferveur parmi les disciples du Báb devint si remarquable que le Chah persan s’alarma de la propagation rapide de la nouvelle religion. Alors qu’un certain nombre d’éminents religieux musulmans acceptèrent le Báb, beaucoup d’autres le dénoncèrent, se joignant au gouvernement dans ses efforts pour détruire le dynamique et jeune mouvement bábi. Le Báb fut arrêté et transféré dans des prisons de plus en plus éloignées dans une tentative infructueuse de limiter son influence toujours croissante. Quatre ans à peine après le début de sa mission, le Báb fut appelé à Tabríz pour être interrogé par les autorités religieuses et politiques.

Le martyre du Báb

En 1850, le ministre en chef du Shah ordonna l’exécution du Báb. Le 9 juillet, dans la ville de Tabríz, le Báb fut suspendu au mur d’une caserne militaire avec un jeune disciple nommé Anís. Un premier groupe de 750 soldats déchargèrent leurs fusils, mais laissèrent le Báb et son compagnon indemnes. Comme le rapporta un câble diplomatique britannique : « Quand la fumée et la poussière se sont dissipées après la salve, [le] Báb avait disparu. […] Les balles avaient brisé les cordes par lesquelles il était attaché 6 . » Le Báb fut trouvé dans sa cellule, dictant ses dernières instructions à son secrétaire. Un deuxième régiment de soldats remplaça le premier, et exécuta ses ordres.

La vie dramatique et la personnalité du Báb étaient si incandescentes et héroïques que sa renommée a atteint le cœur de l’Europe dans les décennies qui ont suivi sa mort. Le critique littéraire français Jules Bois a rappelé l’influence continue de son histoire sur les grands écrivains européens du XIX e siècle :

Toute l’Europe a été agitée de pitié et d’indignation […]. Parmi les écrivains de ma génération, dans le Paris de 1890, le martyre du Báb était encore un sujet aussi actuel que les premières nouvelles de sa mort [en 1850]. Nous avons écrit des poèmes sur Lui. Sarah Bernhardt a sollicité Catulle Mendès pour une pièce de théâtre sur le thème de cette tragédie historique 7 .

Benjamin Jowett, directeur du Balliol College d’Oxford, a fait remarquer que la religion du Báb pourrait renfermer « la promesse de l’avenir », et pourrait ainsi se révéler, a-t-il dit à un ami, « le plus important mouvement religieux depuis la fondation du christianisme ». D’autres occidentaux, dont Léon Tolstoy, Edward Granville Browne, A.L.M. Nicolas, Ernest Renan, Matthew Arnold, et George Curzon, ont parlé et écrit de l’émouvante histoire du Báb dans les salons et les cafés d’Europe, jusque dans les années 1890 8 .

Héraut de Bahá’u’lláh

Par son titre et ses enseignements, le Báb a clairement indiqué qu’il n’était que la porte de la Révélation de Bahá’u’lláh, qui a suivi seulement 19 ans après que le Báb eut annoncé sa propre religion en 1844. Il a dit qu’Il était « l’humble précurseur » d’un personnage plus grand que Lui- même, écrivant : « Bienheureux celui […] qui fixe son regard sur l’ordre de Bahá’u’lláh et qui rend grâce à son seigneur » 9 .

‘Abdu’l-Bahá, fils de Bahá’u’lláh, comparera plus tard les révélations de ces deux figures centrales de la foi bahá’íe au soleil levant. « Le Báb, l’exalté », a-t-il écrit, « est le matin de la vérité, la splendeur dont la lumière brille dans toutes les régions ». Le lever du jour de la révélation de Báb fut rapidement suivi par l’apparition de Bahá’u’lláh, symbolisé par le soleil dans sa « position la plus élevée […] à la mi-été » 10 .

Même aujourd’hui quand les bahá’ís se rendent en pèlerinage au Centre mondial de leur foi, ils visitent d’abord le majestueux tombeau du Báb qui orne le mont Carmel en Terre sainte, puis se rendent une heure plus au nord pour prier au mausolée de Bahá’u’lláh.

Les écrits saints de la foi bahá’íe sont formés de l’ensemble des enseignements du Báb et de Bahá’u’lláh. Ils traitent du fait que l’humanité approche de sa maturité, que les peuples du monde traversent la période durant laquelle ils doivent quitter leur longue enfance collective, et leur tumultueuse adolescence, pour devenir une famille organique indissociable et atteindre l’aube de la maturité de l’humanité. Dans les Écritures de ces deux Manifestations de Dieu, nous voyons la vision et la promesse que le genre humain deviendra un, et qu’une civilisation mondiale, fondée sur la paix et la justice, la prospérité et le bien-être, sera établie.

Cela exigera une prise de conscience croissante de l’unité de l’humanité, afin de générer l’unité de pensée et l’action collective nécessaires pour relever les défis et surmonter les problèmes à venir. Pourtant, il ne fait aucun doute que le Báb, tout comme Bahá’u’lláh, prévoyait pour l’humanité un avenir plus glorieux que les sommets atteints par la civilisation jusqu’à ce jour, un avenir où le pouvoir de la raison et de l’imagination, de la créativité et de l’amour fleuriront.


Une sélection de textes du Báb

Qui, hormis Dieu, dissipe les difficultés ? Dis : Loué soit Dieu ! Il est Dieu ! Tous sont ses serviteurs et tous se soumettent à son commandement !

Le Báb, Sélection des Écrits du Báb


Détache-toi de tout sauf de Dieu, enrichis-toi en Dieu en te passant de tout autre que de Lui, et récite cette prière : Dis : Dieu suffit à toutes choses au-dessus de toutes choses et rien dans les cieux ni sur la terre ni dans ce qui se trouve entre les deux sauf Dieu, ton Seigneur, ne suffit. En vérité, Il est en Lui-même celui qui sait, celui qui soutient, l’Omnipotent.

Le Báb, Sélection des Écrits du Báb


Ô Seigneur ! En toi je cherche refuge et vers tous tes signes je dirige mon cœur.

Ô Seigneur ! En voyage ou chez moi, durant mes activités ou pendant mon travail, je place toute ma confiance en toi. Aussi, accorde-moi ton aide suffisante afin de me rendre indépendant de toutes choses, ô toi qui es sans pareil en ta miséricorde !

Accorde-moi ma part, ô Seigneur, comme il te plaît, et fais que je sois satisfait de tout ce que tu as ordonné pour moi. Tu détiens l’autorité absolue pour commander.

Le Báb, Sélection des Écrits du Báb


Il est préférable de guider une seule âme plutôt que de posséder tout ce qui se trouve sur la terre, car, tant que cette âme reste à l’ombre de l’Arbre de l’unité divine, elle bénéficiera, ainsi que celle qui l’a guidée, de la tendre miséricorde de Dieu, alors que la possession de biens terrestres cessera au moment de la mort.

Le Báb, Sélection des Écrits du Báb, extrait du Bayán persan

Bicentenary bab 09 Bicentenary bab 10

Notes de fin

  1. Jürgen Osterhammel. The Transformation of the World – A Global History of the Nineteenth Century, Princeton, Princeton University Press, 2014.
  2. Muhammad-i-Zarandi (Nabil-i-A’zam), La chronique de Nabil, Bruxelles, MEB, 1986, p. 83.
  3. Le Báb, Sélection des Écrits du Báb, Bruxelles MÉB, 1984, p. 72.
  4. Jules Bois cité dans : Shoghi Effendi, Dieu passe près de nous, Bruxelles MÉB, 1976, p. 73.
  5. Duncan Wu. William Hazlitt: The First Modern Man, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2008.
  6. Sir Justin Sheil, envoyé extraordinaire de la reine Victoria et ministre plénipotentiaire à Téhéran, a écrit à Henry John Temple, 3e vicomte Palmerston, secrétaire d'État britannique aux Affaires étrangères, le 22 juillet 1850, concernant l'exécution. La lettre se trouve sous sa forme originale sous la cote F.O. 60/152/88 dans les archives du Foreign Office au Public Records Office à Londres.
  7. The Bahá’í World, vol. 9, 1940-1944, 1945; réimpression de 1981, Wilmette, Bahá’í Publishing Trust, p. 588.
  8. Douglas Martin, The Mission of the Báb: Retrospective, 1844-1944, The Baha’i World 1994-5.
  9. Shoghi Effendi, Dieu passe près de nous, Bruxelles MÉB, 1976, p. 25.
  10. Shoghi Effendi, L’Ordre mondial de Bahá’ú’lláh, Bruxelles, MÉB, 1993, p. 121.

The Bab: The Gate and Herald of Baha'u'llah

This presentation on the mission of the Báb was created for the occasion of the bicentenary of His birth. It includes a brief description of His life and teachings, as well as His role as the Herald of Bahá’u’lláh. It includes a small selection from the writings of the Báb

The presentation is also available for download as a PDF or as a printed pamphlet

Further information about this period is in the Bicentenary Celebrations section of Bahai.ca.

The Gate and Herald of Bahá’u’lláh

The year 2019 marks the two hundredth anniversary of the birth of the Báb, one of the two founders of the Bahá’í Faith. The anniversary of His birth comes two years after the bicentenary of the birth of Bahá’u’lláh, celebrated around the world in October 2017.

Details for the Shrine of the Báb.
Details for the Shrine of the Báb.

These two celebrations are intimately connected. The life and message of the Báb centred on the imminent appearance of another divine messenger: Bahá’u’lláh. Each year the birth of the Báb and the birth of Bahá’u’lláh are observed as Twin Holy Days, since they also occurred within a day of each other according to the calendar in use in Persia at that time. Their birthdays are commemorated on October 29 and 30 in 2019.

The upper portion of the House of the Báb in Shíráz, Iran.
The upper portion of the House of the Báb in Shíráz, Iran.

The Báb’s life and teachings mark a turning point in human history. Born Siyyid ‘Ali-Muhammad in 1819, He took the name the Báb, meaning “the Gate” in Arabic. His public mission, from 1844 to 1850, represented a spiritual revolution that upended the prevailing social, political, and religious order in Persia, opening the door to Bahá’u’lláh’s new, unifying vision.

The Báb was a Messenger of God in a succession of divine educators over the centuries that includes Abraham, Krishna, Zoroaster, Moses, Buddha, Jesus and Muhammad. The Báb appeared at a moment in history in which the cultures and peoples of the world were coming together as never before. The 19th century witnessed a series of changes in the economic, political, scientific and cultural spheres so profound that one eminent historian has characterized it as the century of “the transformation of the world.”1

The Shrine of the Báb in Haifa, Israel.
The Shrine of the Báb in Haifa, Israel.

As a young man of 25, the Báb announced the end of one religious era and the beginning of another. He inaugurated an independent religion with its own laws and sacred texts, including the Persian Bayán. In a short period of time, He attracted thousands of fellow Persians as followers. His public mission, lasting only six short years, was far-reaching in its consequences.

Gate entrance to the Shrine of the Báb.
Gate entrance to the Shrine of the Báb.

The mission of the Báb

The Báb’s teachings called for a purity of heart and manner of deeds that transcend mere words and belief. He directed His followers to an exacting pattern of prayer, meditation, self-discipline, and solidarity of community life. He wrote:

Purge your heart of worldly desires, and let angelic virtues be your adorning… Beseech the Lord your God to grant that no earthly entanglements, no worldly affections, no ephemeral pursuits, may tarnish the purity, or embitter the sweetness, of that grace which flows through you.2

The most acceptable prayer is the one offered with the utmost spirituality and radiance; its prolongation hath not been and is not beloved by God. The more detached and the purer the prayer, the more acceptable is it in the presence of God.3

These words reflect something of the nature of the Báb’s standards and vision. His teachings upheld the importance of science and praised the cultural and scientific developments in the West, so long as they could avoid extreme materialism. He raised the social status of women, powerfully represented by one of His pre-eminent followers, Táhirih, who has been called “the leader of emancipation for women of the Orient.”4 The Báb set aside animosity between religions, and addressed the coming unity of the human race in a manner that responded to the dreams and ideals of philosophers, poets and previous prophets of God down through the ages.

Marble arcade of the Shrine of the Báb.
Marble arcade of the Shrine of the Báb.

The Báb summoned humanity to embrace a new vision commensurate with the forces and powers being released in society by science and industry, and changes in political and economic systems. His teachings included insights into the nature of humanity’s destiny on earth that met the hopes and aspirations of those who recognized the nineteenth century as the beginning of a “modern age”5 with its distinctive spirit and dynamics.

While initially thought to be a religious reformer, the Báb made clear that His religion was independent from Islam and its laws. So remarkable became the fervour among the Báb’s followers that the Persian Shah grew alarmed by the rapid spread of the new religion. While a number of prominent Muslim clerics accepted the Báb, many more denounced Him, joining with the government in their efforts to destroy the vibrant, youthful Bábi movement. The Báb was arrested and moved to increasingly remote prisons in an unsuccessful attempt to limit his steadily growing influence. A mere four years after the beginning of His mission, the Báb was called to Tabríz for interrogation by religious and political authorities.

The Martyrdom of the Báb

In 1850, the chief minister of the Shah ordered the Báb’s execution. On July 9 in the city of Tabríz, the Báb was suspended from a military barracks along with a young follower named Anís. The first assemblage of 750 soldiers fired their rifles, but left the Báb and His companion unharmed. As a British diplomatic cable reported, “When the smoke and dust cleared away after the volley, [the] Báb was not to be seen…. The balls had broken the ropes by which he was bound.”6 The Báb was found in His cell, dictating final instructions to His secretary. A second regiment of soldiers replaced the first, completing their orders.

The Báb’s dramatic life and personality were so incandescent and heroic that His fame reached into the heart of Europe in the decades following His death. The French literary critic Jules Bois recalled the continued influence of His story on Europe’s leading writers in the 19th century:

All Europe was stirred to pity and indignation…. Among the littérateurs of my generation, in the Paris of 1890, the martyrdom of the Báb was still as fresh a topic as had been the first news of His death [in 1850]. We wrote poems about Him. Sarah Bernhardt entreated Catulle Mendès for a play on the theme of this historic tragedy.7

Benjamin Jowett, Master of Balliol College at Oxford, remarked that the Báb’s religion may have “the promise of the future,” which might prove, he said to a companion, “the most important religious movement since the foundation of Christianity.”8 Others in the West talked and wrote about the moving story of the Báb in the salons and coffee houses of Europe as late as the 1890s, included among them Leo Tolstoy, Edward Granville Browne, A.L.M. Nicolas, Ernest Renan, Matthew Arnold, and George Curzon.9

Lancet windows and details from the Shrine of the Báb.
Lancet windows and details from the Shrine of the Báb.

Herald of Bahá’u’lláh

In His title and in His teachings, the Báb made it clear that He was but the gate to the Revelation of Bahá’u’lláh, which followed only 19 years after the Báb had announced His own religion in 1844. He said that He was “the humble Precursor” to One greater than Himself, writing, “Well is it with him who fixeth his gaze upon the Order of Bahá’u’lláh, and rendereth thanks unto his Lord.”10

‘Abdu’l-Bahá, the son of Bahá’u’lláh, would later compare the Revelations of these two central figures in the Bahá’í Faith by analogy to the rising sun. “The Báb, the Exalted One,” He writes, “is the Morn of Truth, the splendor of Whose light shineth throughout all regions.” The daybreak of the Báb’s Revelation was swiftly followed by Bahá’u’lláh’s appearance, “the sun’s mid-summer and highest station.”11

Even now as Bahá’ís make their way on pilgrimage to the World Centre of their Faith, they first visit the majestic, gold-domed Shrine of the Báb that adorns Mount Carmel in the Holy Land, before then travelling an hour north to offer their prayers at the Shrine of Bahá’u’lláh.

Shrine of the Báb and surrounding gardens.
Shrine of the Báb and surrounding gardens.

The combined teachings of the Báb and Bahá’u’lláh constitute the sacred writings of the Bahá’í Faith, which convey the message of humanity’s coming of age: the peoples of the world are passing from our long childhood, through the tumultuous period of adolescence, and are now approaching the maturity of the human race as one, inseparable organic family. In the scriptures of these two Manifestations of God, we see the vision and promise that the human race will become one, and that a global civilization of peace and justice, prosperity and well-being, will be established.

It will require a growing consciousness of the oneness of humanity in order to generate the unity of thought and collective action required to navigate the challenges and overcome the problems ahead. Yet there is no question that the Báb, like Bahá’u’lláh, foresaw a future for humankind more glorious than civilization has ever been, where the power of human reason and imagination, creativity and love will flourish.


Lamp inside the arcade of the Shrine of the Báb.
Lamp inside the arcade of the Shrine of the Báb.

Selections from the Writings of the Báb

Is there any Remover of difficulties save God? Say: Praised be God! He is God! All are His servants and all abide by His bidding!

Selections from the Writings of the Báb


Rid thou thyself of all attachments to aught except God, enrich thyself in God by dispensing with all else besides Him, and recite this prayer:

Say: God sufficeth all things above all things, and nothing in the heavens or in the earth or in whatever lieth between them but God, thy Lord, sufficeth. Verily, He is in Himself the Knower, the Sustainer, the Omnipotent.

Selections from the Writings of the Báb


O Lord! Unto Thee I repair for refuge and toward all Thy signs I set my heart. O Lord! Whether travelling or at home, and in my occupation or in my work, I place my whole trust in Thee.

Grant me then Thy sufficing help so as to make me independent of all things, O Thou Who art unsurpassed in Thy mercy! Bestow upon me my portion, O Lord, as Thou pleasest, and cause me to be satisfied with whatsoever Thou hast ordained for me.

Thine is the absolute authority to command.

Selections from the Writings of the Báb


It is better to guide one soul than to possess all that is on earth, for as long as that guided soul is under the shadow of the Tree of Divine Unity, he and the one who hath guided him will both be recipients of God’s tender mercy, whereas possession of earthly things will cease at the time of death. The path to guidance is one of love and compassion, not of force and coercion. This hath been God’s method in the past, and shall continue to be in the future!

Persian Bayán, Selections from the Writings of the Báb

Bicentenary bab 09 Bicentenary bab 10

Notes

  1. Jürgen Osterhammel. The Transformation of the World – A Global History of the Nineteenth Century. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2014.
  2. Muhammad-i-Zarandi (Nabil-i-A’zam). The Dawn-Breakers: Nabil’s Narrative of the Early Days of the Bahá’í Revelation. Translated from the Persian by Shoghi Effendi, Bahá’í Publishing Trust, 1975, p. 93.
  3. The Báb. Selections from the Writings of the Báb. VII, 19, p.217.
  4. Jules Bois quoted in: Shoghi Effendi. God Passes By (1944; reprint, Wilmette: Bahá’í Publishing Trust, 1974), p. 76.
  5. Duncan Wu. William Hazlitt: The First Modern Man. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2008.
  6. Sir Justin Sheil, Queen Victoria's Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary in Tehran, wrote to Henry John Temple, 3rd Viscount Palmerston, the British Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, on July 22, 1850, regarding the execution. The letter is found in its original form as document F.O. 60/152/88 in the archives of the Foreign Office at the Public Records Office in London.
  7. The Bahá’í World, vol. 9, 1940-1944 (1945; reprint, Wilmette: Bahá’í Publishing Trust, 1981), p. 588.
  8. The Bahá’í World, vol. 9, 1940-1944 (1945; reprint, Wilmette: Bahá’í Publishing Trust, 1981), p. 562.
  9. Douglas Martin, “The Mission of the Báb: Retrospective, 1844-1944,” The Bahá’í World 1994-5.
  10. Shoghi Effendi. God Passes By (1944; reprint, Wilmette: Bahá’í Publishing Trust, 1974), p. 25.
  11. Shoghi Effendi. “The Dispensation of Bahá’u’lláh,” in The World Order of Bahá’u’lláh, p. 127.